Veggie Broth – Homemade

This one goes out to Cat, thanks for asking for the recipe. I SO hate wasting any food, so I started to use the bits to make my broth a while back. 
First we….
The soup pot you see in the picture fits about 4 litres of liquid.
When I’m cooking I keep a ziplock back out that I throw fair-sized reusable veggie bits into. I keep this in the freezer until I need broth.  Any veggie at all here’s some ideas:
– mushrooms (any kind)
– onions (any kind)
– potato/sweet potato
– celery
– carrot
– bell pepper bits
– organic corn bits
– broccoli
– cauliflower
– hot peppers
– squash
– herbs – dill/basil/rosemary/thyme/cilantro
– tomato
– garlic
I think you get the picture. 
Once I have run out of stock I place all of the baggie ingredients into the stock pot, and cover it with water. I bring the stock to a boil at high heat, then turn it down to medium and add: 
Then we……
1 heaping tbsp Mugi miso (organic only) – this one is NOT gluten free so please make sure you are getting a miso that is if you are intolerant
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp rock salt
1/2 tsp pepper
Simmer for 2-3 hours on stovetop. Allow to cool for an hour. Strain out liquid, bottle and freeze. Can store in fridge for up to 2 weeks in a mason jar with air tight lid. 
Leave a Reply

