Chup. You are no longer a slave to the Heinz corporation

REAL tomato ketchup. Like my mama never made.

REAL tomato ketchup. Like my mama never made.

 

This recipe started as a challenge for me. I want to reduce plastic use wherever I can BUT good ketchup is hard to make when you aren’t using artificial ingredients or preservatives and when you’re looking for the right colour or thickness.

Make no mistake, this recipe is NOT like conventional Heinz ketchup. I like to think that it’s far more sophisticated.

I would try adding different flavour combinations to make awesome mashups next time like, curry. Ya, curry.

Ingredients:

4 fresh tomatoes chopped – do not use frozen tomatoes there will be too much water from ice

1 med clove fresh garlic or 1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 med sized shallot or 1/2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp paprika or get crazy with 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1/2 paprika

2 tsp salt – I used black volcanic salt from the Hawaiian islands

1/2 cup molasses

3/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup ground flax seed

Method: 

Mix all ingredients in food processor or blender & bottle.

Do NOT be afraid of its runny nature, once you have placed in your selected bottle and popped in the fridge, you will see by the next day that it has thickened quite a bit.

If you are still worried, you can add tomato paste however, this doesn’t stop the waste insanity. My ketchup turned out great and with the bottle I chose above, can be used to decorate savoury dishes.  I bottled the rest in an old ketchup bottle for when the kids ask for it – see no evil.

Should keep for at least a month in the fridge.

 

Leave a Reply

